Reflection

Moving Forward

Reasons I started this blog were to share my experiences and inspire others. I understood the possibility that I might not get into a PhD program this fall–or next, etc. But I didn’t want that to hinder me from sharing this part of my journey with others–with you.

Though some may have too much pride to share their disappointments, I find hope in the stories of those who are transparent and courageous.

At this time I have received several “non admittance” letters and am patiently waiting for the remainder of the decisions. It is a very humbling experience and one that continues to build my faith. Sure, I could mope around for another week and a half or be overwhelmed at the fact I may not begin this chapter in the fall. But that’s not me. That’s not how I got here in the first place.

I have to be grounded in the fact that some chapters are yet to be written. Think of it this way, when writing a book the author may have a sense of how the story is going to pan out. But in order to develop the characters they must be faced with a series of challenges.

This is just another challenge–

As I have said before, I love to hike. But hiking is not always “a walk in the park.”  Even the most experienced (which I am not) hikers face set backs. Weather delays and washed out trails can keep a hiker from their destination–but it doesn’t (at least it shouldn’t) keep the hiker from ever hiking again. Instead they may need to wait out the weather or find an alternate trail. Sometimes they need to take a different trail. Other times they are forced off the familiar path until they can get back to familiar ground. Either way, each step is part of the adventure.

No matter what challenge you face, choose hope and courage. They are what will keep you grounded and moving forward.

2 thoughts on “Moving Forward

  1. Thank you friends for sharing the article is quite interesting, hopefully we all get that true happiness rays began to warm our hearts and make the heart glad, when we can share with each other sincerely. Lots of love from Gede Prama 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

