Reflection

“Have a good day, Dr. Newbolt.”

When I introduce myself to my students, I introduce myself as Mrs. That’s my title. When I use the word professor before my name (which I only use in text–of course), the ‘p’ in professor is lowercase.

This semester I have one student who will randomly call my Dr. Newbolt. When I politely told her that I am no a Dr. I thanked her for her kindness. I shared with her that the first few times she said it, I was hoping it was prophetic–a sign of acceptance into a program I had applied to. She smiled and shared a few words of encouragement.

But she still called me Dr. Newbolt–and this time, she winked ūüėČ ¬†and gave me a thumbs up.

Life is funny that way.

Yesterday I received excellent news. The letter read, “Congratulations…” I was accepted into a PhD program! Now, I am not certain about all the logistics, if an¬†assistantship¬†is available, ¬†etc. ¬†but for the time-being, that stuff doesn’t matter. Right now I am just excited and thankful.

When we are encouraged, it can be easy to set it aside. However, kind words are always worth hanging onto.

Be encouraged today that you have what it takes to make this world a better place. You have the power of kindness and encouragement which are worth more than you will ever know.¬†Encourage someone today–you may never know how much it means to them and that’s okay. Do it anyways.

Whether or not this adventure takes me towards a PhD in the fall, the life lessons I have learned (and continue to learn) along the way are invaluable.

Leave a Reply

