Reflection

Not What I Expected

It has been a while since my last post, so I thought I should catch you up. The first year of my PhD was…yes, that’s right…it was.

Over now, I finally am barely starting to process all that the year was. The best way to describe it is to compare it to your first time white water rafting. You are given instructions without an idea of where you are going. Someone is giving your directions but you can barely hear them over the bumps and turns. It is intense at times and when you feel like you got your bearings–the white water is back! This means you don’t have a lot of time to process what is going on around you–instead you learn to listen much more closely and do the best you can.

Sometimes we can get so absorbed in what’s going on that we forget where we are and what we are doing. When this happens we need to find a place to get our raft back on land–to get our feet back on land. It takes a lot of work, but sometimes it is needed.

As I take a look around, I see that this place isn’t so scary–the work is manageable and there are lots of people I didn’t see before…people who are just tubing along. There are a lot of happy people, people who aren’t trying to race me down the river–people who are trying to guide me. And I keep filling my boat with supportive people–that seems to make the journey much more enjoyable–and all the more worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

